Reboot!

I’ve been writing Quiet Waters for almost two years now, and many of you have been following along from the beginning. Thank you! The comments you have left, the conversations we’ve had, and even the popularity of some posts and the unpopularity of others have all taught me so much. I am extremely grateful.

As He often does, the Lord has been focusing my thoughts, my prayers, and my writing over these two years. And He has made it clear that it is time for a slight change in direction and methods, a reboot of sorts.

One thing that has become abundantly clear over these past two years is that many (many!) of us are struggling to find a healthy balance in life. The demands of work, school, family, ministry, and everything else we choose to take on seem to continuously increase. When we are already operating at 100% capacity, we have no space, no margin, for the unexpected: the fridge dies, a job is lost, a spouse leaves.

Jesus told us, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30, NIV)

My soul often needs rest, and I’m discovering that many of you feel the same way. That is the purpose of this reboot: to create a digital space where we can encourage one another to get through the day, the week, the month, the year. A place where we can find tools and resources to become the best spouse, parent, sibling, employee, minister, and Christian we can possibly be. A place where we can invite the Father to restore to us the joy of His salvation, the joy that we once knew with fire and passion.

I hope you’ll check out www.ToRiseAbove.org. And if you like what you see, click Subscribe so that you can receive an email every time something new is posted (a couple times a week, maybe).

I appreciate your prayers as we move forward in this new phase of ministry. Your feedback and comments are always welcome. And I hope you will consider sharing the new website with your friends and family.

Thanks again for all your support!

Together in His service,

Dave

P.S. Quiet Waters will not be shutting down, so if you are still reading old posts, it will remain available to you for the foreseeable future.

About Dave Cummings

Dave Cummings is a husband, father of three, college professor, biologist, and urban outdoorsman. Most importantly, he is a Christ follower.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

