An example of courage

An example of courage

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I am teaching my kids through my own life, through my words and actions. I want them to trust Christ, but am I showing them clearly how to do that? I want them to be kind, respectful, and humble. But would anyone use those words to describe me?

Most recently I have been thinking about courage. Am I courageous? What courageous things do I do? I live a pretty comfortable life in a southern California suburb. My family is strong and healthy. I work at a Christian University where I can be myself without fear of what others might think of me or my faith. I don’t have too many obvious opportunities to be courageous.

One of my students, Pieter Baker, just showed me, and the world, what real courage looks like. He walked away from everything he knew – wife, baby, home, the United States – to bring his skills to bear on the Ebola crisis in Africa. Pieter had the courage to live out his idealism. I want to be more like Pieter.

© Viewpoint Magazine and Pieter Baker.

© Viewpoint Magazine and Pieter Baker.

Here’s a short story about Pieter’s life-saving work in the Viewpoint Magazine. I’m going to read it to my kids.

http://viewpoint.pointloma.edu/fighting-ebola-by-changing-the-soil/

About Dave Cummings

Dave Cummings is a husband, father of three, college professor, biologist, and urban outdoorsman. Most importantly, he is a Christ follower.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An example of courage

  1. Ryan says:

    For those that don’t know you personally, you are actually being too humble. You continually demonstrate acts of courage: you are willing to be transparent in front of others, you are willing to gracefully and compassionately walk through difficult conversations, you have a countercultural family that puts others first, and the list goes on. Your children may not consciously recognize all of these things now, but in a few years they will be aware that what they thought of as a normal family took a lot of courage.

Leave a Reply

