Welcome to Quiet Waters

Welcome to Quiet Waters: Reflections on God and Nature.

My hope is to challenge readers, and myself, to see God’s hand of grace in every aspect of life, but especially in His creation. Nature is filled with so many lessons about the God behind it all. And all it takes is an attentive heart. No matter what brings you out into nature – slow walks in the park, long hikes in the mountains, or heart-stopping rapids in a kayak – the Creator wants to use it to draw you closer to Him and speak to you.

My name is Dave Cummings, and I’m an urban outdoorsman. I’ve lived in New York, Idaho, and California, and spent countless hours enjoying the outdoors. Today, I live in San Diego with my wife, Ann, and our three kids: Sydney, Ryan, and Joshua. As much as I’d love to be living in a place with wide open spaces, tall trees in dense forests, and flowing streams teaming with wild trout, God’s calling on my life is too strong to ignore. I am a microbiologist at Point Loma Nazarene University, a Christian liberal arts college on the San Diego coast. And I am quite confident that God has placed my family here, now, for a reason. Maybe for many reasons. And as much as I miss easy access to the kinds of outdoor activities I love most, He has blessed me with plenty of rich nature experiences. And I appreciate them so much more than I ever did when I lived in the Sierras or Idaho or even rural upstate New York since they come so much less frequently. And that’s a tremendous blessing in itself.

I hope you’ll join me as we gaze into God’s creation to see what we can learn about life, ourselves, and the God of the universe.

About Dave Cummings

Dave Cummings is a husband, father of three, college professor, biologist, and urban outdoorsman. Most importantly, he is a Christ follower.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

